Executive Women International: Birmingham, AL

EWI Scholarship Program – EWISP

EWISP is an annual, competition-based program which awards scholarship money each year to qualifying high school seniors. Students are nominated by their schools to participate in the scholarship competition. Judges select winning students based on their scholastic achievement, leadership qualities, good citizenship and extra-curricular activities. 

High school seniors first apply for EWISP and then compete at the local Chapter level where award levels vary. Chapter level winners are submitted to the Corporate level for a chance to win one of multiple scholarships. 

The EWI® Scholarship Program (EWISP) is an arm of EWI®’s Business/Career/Development Program (B/C/D Program). The B/C/D Program began in 1974 when Sears, Roebuck and Company invited the corporate office of EWI® to become involved in a community project to encourage the development of careers in business among high school students. For 15 years, the program was co-sponsored and funded by EWI®, Sears, Roebuck and Company, and Lanier Business Products. 

In 1989 the program became fully funded and administered by EWI® under the exempt status of the Business Career Development Scholarship Program. Today, it is known as the B/C/DP and encompasses a broad range of educational and philanthropic endeavors. The program is administered under strict compliance with IRS rules governing a 501(c)3 organization and more than 36% of our 70 EWI® chapters participate at some level in the EWISP program. 

The Birmingham Chapter EWI® Scholarship Program, or better known as The Glenda Burson EWISP Scholarship Program, is one of the highlights of our chapter. Our chapter’s program is named for Glenda Burson, a past president of our chapter who went on to become an International President of EWI® (1995-1996). While Glenda is still active in our chapter, she is a past representative, Life Chapter Member, and currently serves as Executive for McWane, Inc.   

In 2014, the Birmingham Chapter awarded $8,000 in scholarships. 

For more information please contact Stacey Karney (TekLinks, Inc.), 2015-2016 EWISP Committee Chair, at skarney@teklinks.com.